Does Cadbury Use Beef Derived Gelatine In Its Indian Products? No, The Viral Claim Is False!

The screenshot of the website shared with the viral claim is of Cadbury Australia and is falsely linked to Cadbury products in India.

India   |   20 July 2021 12:03 PM GMT
Writer : Jakir Hassan | Editor : Bharat Nayak | Creatives : Jakir Hassan
Does Cadbury Use Beef Derived Gelatine In Its Indian Products? No, The Viral Claim Is False!

Image Credit: Twitter

A claim related to Cadbury, the second-largest confectionery brand in the world, is doing rounds on social media. Netizens have claimed that British multinational confectionery company Cadbury uses gelatine in the ingredients, which is halal certified and is derived from beef.

Madhu Purnima Kishwar posted a screenshot from the Cadbury website on Twitter on 17 July. She captioned the picture, "Is this true @CadburyUK? If yes, Cadbury deserves to be sued for forcing Hindus to consume halaal certified beef products. Our ancestors & Gurus sacrificed their lives but didn't accept eating beef. But post "independence" rulers have allowed our Dharma to be violated with impunity."

The claim is viral on Twitter. Netizens posted different pictures of Cadbury products with critical captions.

Arun Pudur, founder and group president of Celframe Corporation, shared the claim.

Radharamn Das, Vice president and spokesperson of ISKCON Kolkata, shared the claim.

The claim is viral on Facebook.

A Facebook user captioned in Hindi, "माल बेचने के लिए सबको हलाल वाले ग्राहकों की ही तलाश है। शाकाहारियों और गैर-हलालियों को पूछता ही कौन है? वैसे क्या डेयरी मिल्क में भी जिलेटिन मिलाया जाता होगा? में तो चौंक ही गया।".

The caption reads in English, "Everyone is looking for halal customers to sell the goods. Who is asking the vegetarians and non-Halal? By the way, would gelatin be added to dairy milk as well? I was surprised."


Claim:

Cadbury uses gelatine in the ingredients of Indian products, which is halal certified and is derived from beef.

Fact Check:

We found the viral claim is misleading and falsely linked to Cadbury products manufactured in India.

We looked on Twitter and found Cadbury Dairy Milk's reply to Madhu Purnima Kishwar. The official Twitter handle named Cadbury Dairy Milk replied, "Hi Madhu, the screenshot shared in the Tweet is not related to Mondelez products manufactured in India. All the products manufactured and sold in India are 100% vegetarian. The green dot on the wrapper signifies that. -1/n"

We analysed the screenshot posted with the viral claim which talks about gelatine, the website mentioned in the picture is "Cadbury.com.au". We found that the website is for Cadbury Australia. The products mentioned in the viral screenshot are available in Australia and not India.

Image Credit: Screenshot/Website

Madhu Purnima Kishwar tweeted again after Cadbury Dairy Milk's clarification on Twitter. Kishwar seeks clarification from Piyush Goyal, Minister for consumer affairs, regarding the matter.

However, we checked for the standards of packaging and labelling in India issued by the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI). According to Food Safety and Standards (Packaging and Labelling) Regulation, 2011, every package of Vegetarian Food bears a symbol that is a green colour filled circle. (The information can be accessed on page number 8 of the linked pdf.)

Image Credit: FSSAI

The controversy ignited more, and as a result, Hindus began to call for a boycott of Cadbury in India; the British multinational company owned by Mondelez International issued more clarifications on Twitter.

We can conclude that the Cadbury products manufactured in India are vegetarian, which are certified by FSSAI. The screenshot shared with the claim is of Cadbury Australia and is falsely linked to Cadbury products in India.

If you have any news that you believe needs to be fact-checked, please email us at factcheck@thelogicalindian.com or WhatsApp at 6364000343.

Also Read: Viral Video Of Two Policemen Beaten Up In Rajasthan Shared With False Claim

Claim Review :  No, Cadbury does not use beef derived gelatine in its Indian products
Claimed By :  Social Media Post
Fact Check :  Misleading
Suggest a correction

    Help Us Correct

    To err is human, to help correct is humane
    Identified a factual or typographical error in this story? Kindly use this form to alert our editors
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Form Submitted Successfully
    Error in submitting form. Try again later

Contributors

Jakir Hassan

Jakir Hassan

Digital Journalist

A journalist at heart loves the in-depth work of reporting, writing, editing, research, and data analysis. A digital and social media enthusiast.

Bharat Nayak

Bharat Nayak

Founding Editor - Special Project

As the founding editor, Bharat had been heading the newsroom during the formation years of the organization and worked towards editorial policies, conceptualizing and designing campaign strategies and collaborations. He believes that through the use of digital media, one could engage the millennial's in rational conversations about pertinent social issues, provoking them to think and bring a behavioral change accordingly.

Jakir Hassan

Jakir Hassan

Digital Journalist

A journalist at heart loves the in-depth work of reporting, writing, editing, research, and data analysis. A digital and social media enthusiast.

Next Story