Centre Releases New Map Of India With Union Territories Of Jammu-Kashmir, Ladakh

Published : 3 Nov 2019 9:13 AM GMT
Centre Releases New Map Of India With Union Territories Of Jammu-Kashmir, LadakhImage Credits: Times Of India, Times Of India

After officially unionising Jammu and Kashmir with India, the Survey of India has released a redrawn map of India showing the newly formed Union Territories of Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh.

The new map depicts Ladakh taking a much larger area than the Jammu and Kashmir. In the map, the Centre has also included areas that currently fall under Pakistan administered Kashmir such as Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, and Chilhas, Mirpur, and Muzaffarabad.

This comes after the Parliament passed a resolution to abrogate Article 370 and the bill to divide the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories in August this year. President then effectively scrapped Article 370 of the Indian Constitution and gave nod to The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.

The President of India issued a notification on October 2, Saturday to redefine the districts that fall under the two UT as per the J&K Reorganisation Act, 2019.

“The new UT of Ladakh consists of two districts of Kargil and Leh. The rest of the former State of Jammu and Kashmir is in the new UT of J&K,” the Home Ministry said.

The Reorganisation Act, came to recognition in 1947 with just 14 districts i.e. Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory; By 2019 the 14 districts have been reorganised into 28 districts. The new districts are Kupwara, Bandipur, Ganderbal, Srinagar, Budgam, Pulwama, Shupian, Kulgam, Rajouri, Ramban, Doda, Kishtivar, Samba and Kargil.

“The Leh district of the new Union Territory of Ladakh has been defined in the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation (Removal of Difficulties) Second Order, 2019, issued by the President of India, to include the areas of the districts of Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory of 1947, in addition to the remaining areas of Leh and Ladakh districts of 1947, after carving out the Kargil District,” the notification said.

Also Read: 78,985 Tonnes Of E Waste Used To Make Medals For Tokyo Olympics

Suggest a correction

    Help Us Correct

    To err is human, to help correct is humane
    Identified a factual or typographical error in this story? Kindly use this form to alert our editors
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Form Submitted Successfully
    Error in submitting form. Try again later
Next Story