Narendra Modi’s New Cabinet Occupied By Lawyers, Doctors And PhD Holders

6 July 2016 9:04 AM GMT
Narendra Modi’s New Cabinet Occupied By Lawyers, Doctors And PhD Holders
image source:�indianexpress; story source:�htimesofindia

The reshuffled cabinet announced by Prime Minister Modi on Tuesday comprises some eminent personalities who boast of high educational credentials. It has in its bandwagon, a lawyer, an onco-surgeon, and a Ph.D. holder among others. Besides, five ministers are law graduates, four post-graduates, five graduates and two undergraduates.

We can have a look at their educational qualifications in the list given below:

PP Chaudhary: BJP MP from Pali – Practiced law in the Supreme Court. He has been an RSS member since 8 years of age and has been awarded the Sansad Ratna award, twice, for his impressive attendance in the Lok Sabha. Coming from the OBC Seervi caste, he heads the Seervi Mahasabha.

Vijay Goel: BJP Rajya Sabha MP from Rajasthan – Law graduate. Former Minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee PMO and has been elected to the Lok Sabha thrice. Before that, he was a Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports in the Vajpayee government.

Faggan Singh Kulaste: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Mandla – Law graduate. He is currently serving his fifth term in Vidhan Sabha of Madhya Pradesh and has served in the Rajya Sabha for a term. During the Vajpayee government, he was Minister of State, Tribal Affairs and an agriculturalist, and social worker. However, he was reported by NDTV to be one of the three BJP MPs arrested for cash-for-vote scam recorded in a video in 2008 (UPA-I).

Arjun Ram Meghwal: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Bikaner – Law graduate. He was a part of the Indian Administrative, Rajasthan cadre and a champion of local language usage. Also in news because of cycling to the Parliament for his oath taking ceremony.

S S Ahluwalia: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Darjeeling – Law graduate. One of those who speaks his mind in the party and known as a ‘research scholar’ on BJP’s key legislations. He was previously an MP representing Bihar and Jharkhand in the Rajya Sabha and a Minister in Prime Minister PV Narasimha Rao’s cabinet.

Rajen Gohain: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Nawgong – Law graduate, championing the cause of tea planters. Joining the party in 1991, he is serving his fourth term in the Lok Sabha. Since he belongs to the pro-Congress Ahom community, his presence would ensure inclusion of the community’s views.

Subhash Ramrao Bhamre: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Dhule – Super specialization in cancer surgery (only doctor in the cabinet). According to a report in The Free Press Journal, Bhamre, a first-time BJP MP was elected in the Lok Sabha after defeating the Congress heavyweight.

Amrish Patel: In the 2014 LS polls. Belonging to the Dhule constituency, his induction may be a strategy to pacify BJP members criticizing Eknath Khadse’s ouster.

Mahendra Nath Pandey: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Chandauli – M.A., Ph.D. (Hindi), Master of Journalism. His inclusion may be aimed at inducing Brahmin votes in the upcoming elections in UP. He has been BJP MLA for two terms and this is his first terms as MP.

Krishna Raj: BJP MP from Shahjahanpur Cabinet – M.A. (Art) from Awadh University. She is a prominent Dalit leader from UP’s Rohilkhand region, elected to Lok Sabha in 2014 and actively participates in parliamentary debates.

Anupriya Singh Patel: Apna Dal MP from Mirzapur – Masters degrees in Psychology and also MBA. This is the first term as Lok Sabha MP for the daughter of the late Sone Lal Patel, a Kurmi leader from UP.

CR Chaudhary: BJP MP from Nagaur – M.A. (Geography), Took training in Rural Development at the United Kingdom, Department of Development Administration, School of Public Policy, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom. He was a lecturer in Barmer and Ajmer, qualified for the Rajasthan Administrative Services and chaired the Rajasthan Public Service Commission. His expertise in agriculture is invaluable. He belongs to the Jat community.

Anil Madhav Dave: BJP Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh – M.Com. He has authored various books on environment and considered to mastermind Digvijaya Singh-led Congress defeat in the 2003 polls.

MJ Akbar: BJP Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh – B.A (honours) degree in English, eminent journalist and writer. A former editor of The Telegraph and The Asian Age, Akbar was elected from Kishanganj in Bihar on a Congress ticket in 1989. Till Rajiv Gandhi’s assassination in 1989 he remained prominent in his inner circle, but after that, he joined journalism once again. Prior to the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, he joined BJP.

Ramesh Chandappa Jigjinagi: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Bijapur – B.A. from S.B.New Arts College, Bijapur, Karnataka, Jigjinagi is a Dalit leader. He has been a protégé of former Karnataka CM Ramakrishna Hegde, joined Janta Dal and Lok Shakti Party and the BJP in 2004. He was even among the four recommended for a ministerial berth from Karnataka BJP after the 2004 Lok Sabha elections.

Jaswant Sinh Bhabhor: BJP MP from Dahod – B.A. Bachelor in Education (B.Ed). He has earned a reputation for his impeccable image, humble lifestyle and ease of accessibility while serving various portfolios including the Ministry of Tribal Affairs and Environment during his five terms in Gujarat. During Modi’s term as Chief Minister of Gujarat, Bhabhor belonged to the cabinet.

Parshottam Rupala: BJP Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat – B.Sc and B.Ed. Considered to be a powerful Patel leader from Gujarat, Rupala was a Minister for Agriculture when Modi was CM. He is serving his second term as a member of Vidhan Parishad, having been elected in 2008 and has been an MLA for three terms. His induction might be aimed at taming the Patidar agitation.

Mansukh Mandaviya: BJP Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat – H.S.C., Veterinary Live Stock Inspector (Certificate Course). Again a Patel leader whose induction may be an attempt to tame the Patidar community, Mandaviya is the General Secretary of the Gujarat BJP as per his twitter profile. Before joining the BJP he was an ABVP leader and elected to the state legislature in 2002.

Ajay Tamta: BJP Lok Sabha MP from Almora – Undergraduate. A former Minister in MP between 2007 and 2009. Tamta is a Dalit leader and may be BJP’s ally to woo Dalit votes in the elections is the state dominated by the Congress.

Ramdas Athawale: RPI Rajya Sabha MP from Maharashtra Undergraduate, and the only Rajya Sabha member of the Republican Party of India. In 1990, Athawale was elected to the Maharashtra Legislative Council and was a Minister of the Congress government in the state. In 1998 and 2002, he was elected to the Lok Sabha. In 2011, he joined the BJP.

The Logical Indian team is heartened to see some of the best brains from the political parties from all over India. Many have impressive political careers after their education. However, we also hope that members of various communities actually bring to the table the justified concerns of their electorate and do not lose sight of their service in the name of caste or party politics. We sincerely hope that they will prove to be feathers in the new cabinet’s cap and contribute to the best of their abilities for making a better India.

Suggest a correction

    Help Us Correct

    To err is human, to help correct is humane
    Identified a factual or typographical error in this story? Kindly use this form to alert our editors
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Form Submitted Successfully
    Error in submitting form. Try again later


The Logical Indian

The Logical Indian


The Logical Indian

The Logical Indian


Next Story