Two Delhi Metro Stations On Red Line Extension Renamed In Honour Of Martyrs

Published : 10 March 2019 11:54 AM GMT
Two Delhi Metro Stations On Red Line Extension Renamed In Honour Of MartyrsImage Credits: The Indian Express

In the memory of country’s fallen martyrs, two Delhi metro stations on Dilshad garden- New Bus Adda Corridor have been renamed, reported The Indian Express. In a recent incident, the 9.4km long, an extension of Delhi metro’s Red line route received a nod from the Uttar Pradesh government for its renaming, a Delhi Metro Railway Corporation (DMRC) officer said. He further added that this would be the first time that any metro station in Uttar Pradesh under DMRC would carry the name of a martyr.

What are the names?

Major Mohit Sharma Rajendra Nagar metro station is the new name of Rajendra Nagar metro station and the end station, New Bus Adda is renamed to Shaheed Sthal (New Bus Adda), according to the officer. The Prime Minister on March 8 in presence of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Governor Ram Naik , Union Minister VK Singh, and DMRC Managing Director Mangu Singh inaugurated, the Red line’s extension. After inaugurating it, he took a ride from Shaheed Sthal in Ghaziabad and alighted at Kashmere Gate. After this opening, the Delhi metro network comprises of 336.6 km with 244 metro stations. This Red line’s extension will help people to reach interior’s of Ghaziabad, taking the DMRC’s span in Uttar Pradesh to 52.85km.

Ghaziabad residents sought for name change

Ritu Maheshwari, District Magistrate of Ghaziabad, told that a request was sent to the state government by the district administration and the Ghaziabad Development Authority to change the names of the metro stations in the memorandums from public representatives and Ghaziabad residents.

Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh Nitin Ramesh Gokaran had earlier sent a demi official letter to the Secretary of Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Government of India and the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited (DMRC) to change the names, according to Financial Express report.

What does these names mean?

Shaheed Sthal metro station is dedicated to soldiers who laid down their lives for our country and Major Mohit Sharma Rajendra Nagar metro station is dedicated to Major Mohit Sharma of para 1. He was killed in a battle with terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir in 2009. The other six stations on the Red Line extension stretch are Shahid Nagar, Raj Bagh, Shyam Park, Mohan Nagar, Arthala and Hindon River Station.

The new metro corridor is entirely elevated and has a total of eight metro stations. The levels are named as: the ground, concourse, platform and the roof. The Hindon River station has a parking area and is the only station to have a total of five levels.

Also Read: Kerala: In A First, Kochi Metro Sets Up Breastfeeding Pods For Lactating Mothers

Suggest a correction

    Help Us Correct

    To err is human, to help correct is humane
    Identified a factual or typographical error in this story? Kindly use this form to alert our editors
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Form Submitted Successfully
    Error in submitting form. Try again later
Next Story